I had the opportunity to attend my own funeral over the weekend. No, I’m feeling fine and still here; pixels and other important things seem to be intact. The funeral happened in an impromptu manner, such as death has a way of doing too it seems.

Gallery Xue had issued a call for decorated coffins for a gallery event they were having this weekend. Undecorated coffins were available without charge on the Marketplace, so I set off to my favorite sandbox lately, the LEA (Linden Endowment for the Arts) Sandbox at LEA5.

The decorating theme was “how would you decorate your final resting place”. For me that’s easy. Anyone who knows me knows that I collect little besides experiences and kindred spirits these days. So I decided to assemble some pics from my time in Second Life to decorate my coffin, and the wool gathering began…

So many great experiences have happened in the short time I’ve been in SL!

What started as decorating my coffin, started to make me think about what my funeral would be like. A simple affair such as the one I did at LEA would be fine; you can pack me up with just the memories I’ve already taken with me as I lie down in that box. A few more people, some music, and people telling fantastic lies about me while sipping cocktails…all would be quite lovely.

The reason this didn’t seem at all morbid is because just as I embrace life, I embrace death too. I see it as just a door opening to another journey. I’ve lived an amazing life and I see each new day as just more icing on the cake. I’m also planning for the next stop after this life to look  something like this anyway, so what’s not to like? You can skip the whole box thing too. I’d be happier if you started my own compost pile for me and I can fertilize the Zucchinis in death, just as I’ve done in life.

Back to the project, I start to link everything together to transport to the gallery, and it seemed that every time I rezzed my coffin there were more pieces missing. Haha, I’ll have to work on that. Then a family member needed me, and that was it for the project. R.I.P. Coffin project. Sorry Faith, I really am going to get a piece to your gallery someday. Thanks for keeping me inspired!

Then, a notice arrives that the Seniors from VB28 were getting together as THE SENIORS MARCHING UNIT
to march in the Virtual Museums Inc’s 2nd Anniversary Parade on Sunday. Yay, I had barely made it to the first performance and then was not able to be in the piece due to my computer being just hours away from a major failure. But now I could don my Senior drag and strut down the parade route with the rest.

The parade was pretty free form from my perspective as we quickly spread out and I had to rejoin the parade route several times from getting lost, even with red arrows on the ground. But that’s just my style. I’m the klutzy one thank you. I do look good though, and really, what’s more important? As you’ll see I won’t be ready for frumpy clothes anytime soon.

Seeing myself looking that old and still trying to be hip was far more scary than the thought of quickly being whisked off to the afterlife before that happens. It would be something to ponder…except there are far more interesting things to think about and do.

So now that I’ve gotten my funeral out of the way, I’m ready for a lot more living.

See you soon,

Calli

More pics at:

VB28 Seniors Marching Unit

Gallery Xue, Amicus Curiae, Second Life

http://maps.secondlife.com/secondlife/Amicus%20curiae/120/70/24

LEA Sandbox, LEA5, Second Life

http://maps.secondlife.com/secondlife/LEA5/130/129/24

Virtual Museums Main Campus, Virtual Museums, Second Life

http://maps.secondlife.com/secondlife/Virtual%20Museums/46/174/23

